Emergency: Open 24hrs/365 days 
Emergency Call: (03) 9731 2000

Referring Vets

Emergency & Critical Care - referral

The emergency and critical care service provides veterinary care 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. The service provides after-hours care for patients when their veterinary clinic is closed and 24 hour monitoring and treatment of the animals that are admitted to our Hospital.

Pet owners can bring their sick or injured animals to us at any time of the day or night. Patients are examined and, if necessary, admitted to the Hospital for ongoing tests and treatment.

Our intensive care unit provides 'round the clock' care to critically-ill patients. There is a vet on duty at all times.

The service is part of a state-of-the-art facility and can perform many tests (including x-rays and blood tests) at times when smaller clinics may not be able to (such as on weekends and after hours).

The University of Melbourne offers an Emergency and Critical Care residency training program for veterinarians wishing to pursue advanced clinical training.

Meet the team

Dr Dez Hughes, Associate Professor and Section Head in Emergency and Critical Care

Dr Elise Boller, Senior Lecturer, Emergency and Critical Care and ECC Residency Program Director
Dr Manuel Boller, Senior Lecturer in Emergency and Critical Care
Dr Mark Davis, Senior Lecturer in Emergency and Critical Care
Dr Kylie Kelers, Lecturer
Dr Suzie May, Senior Veterinary Clinical Tutor
Dr Lorna O’Dowd, Senior Veterinary Clinical Tutor
Dr Hui Mei Ong, Senior Veterinary Clinical Tutor
Dr Jiah Goh, Veterinary Clinical Tutor
Dr Sarah Gaudette, Senior Resident
Dr Ide Gillespie, Resident
Dr Liam Donaldson, Resident
Dr Louis Eramanis, Resident

Head Nurses 
Ms Emily Wells, Head Nurse ECC
Ms Samara Blake, Veterinary Nurse (second in charge)
Mr Steve Isaacs
Ms Asha Yeoman
Ms Hayley Dunn
Ms Kellie Baker 
Ms Rachael Joseph
Ms Andrea Shadiotto
Ms Katrina Trzepizur
Ms Courtnay Baskerville
Ms Raina Von Nagy
Ms Daniella Digiantomasso
Ms Michelle Bush
Ms Kat Ladd
Ms Gillian Watson
Ms Jenni Modestou
Ms Susanna Finn